Menu Menu

Florida’s Fluoridation Awards

During the 2014 National Oral Health Conference sponsored by the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD), there was an award ceremony held to recognize the efforts of communities and individuals to initiate or keep water fluoridation in their community during the 2012 calendar year.  Communities that adopt fluoridation are awarded the Community Initiative Award.  Communities that vote or decide to keep fluoridation are awarded the Community Fluoridation Reaffirmation Award.  The awards are presented by a joint committee of the following three organizations: American Dental Association (ADA), ASTDD and the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

The following communities in Florida were recognized at this year’s 2014 Awards Ceremony for their efforts:

Community Reaffirmation Award: Brooksville
50 years of Community Water Fluoridation 1963-2013 – FKAA Florida City Plant and the Fort Pierce Utilities Authority

In addition, the Tampa Bay Times, the Pinellas County Dental Association, Upper Pinellas County Dental Association and the Pinellas County Oral Health Coalition were awarded 2014 Fluoridation Merit Awards.